“Today”

Family life, I made that, Scrapbook it

I’m trying to hone my scrapbook style.  That statement sounds silly to me, but truth is I’m drawn to a myriad of styles and it vexes me a bit that I can’t nail something down as ‘my style’.  I think it’s an important step in my evolvement as a sb’er to identify what appeals to me most and what type of pages I find the most visually captivating.

I’ve watched ALOT of Shimelle videos.  I love those like cops love donuts, but I don’t think her style is akin to mine.  I am addicted to Wilna’s work, but wow, she’s artsy.  I’m not artsy.  I admire Ali Edwards.  Hard.  But ultimately, I don’t make pages like her if I’m working on my own.

So I’m setting about to find what style makes me happiest.  I plan to flip through the last couple year’s layouts and PL spreads and note which ones make me tingly in terms of design and what it is about them that I’d like to continue to recreate.

This page, I kinda love.

PlantsandPaper15-11

I love the white space.  The simplicity.  The colors.  The ink splatters (through which the cat walked when I wasn’t looking).

PlantsandPaper15-07

I started with a handful of stuff that was in a packet of randomness I purchased from Ann Marie Espinoza.  (Apparently because I don’t have enough random crap of my very own.)  There was a die cut butterfly in orange card stock that I’m never going to glue to paper – but it made the perfect stencil for a pencil/sewn outline.

PlantsandPaper15-08

 

8.5 x 11 pages are so easy to run through your printer.  A quick bit of typed journaling makes me super happy.

PlantsandPaper15-09

Ultimately, I over embellished and wish I would’ve stopped before stamping on the wood veneer speech bubble.  Live and learn.  I’m pretty over it already…

PlantsandPaper15-10

The “Today” chipboard Thickers from Amy Tangerine makes this page complete.  My love for script runs deep and wide.

PlantsandPaper15-11

There she is folks…  my first (and favorite) layout of 2015.

Leave a Reply

